Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Soccer
  2. A-League

A-League 2024-25 season: Dates, teams and past winners

The 2024/25 A-League campaign will be the 20th edition of the competition since it first took place during the 2005/06 season.

Central Coast Mariners are the reigning champions after they pulled off an historic treble in the 2023/24 campaign.

They won both the grand final and minor premiership, along with the AFC Champions League and will be the team to beat once again in 2024/25.

However, a number of clubs will be out to knock them off their perch and it looks sure to be another exciting, closely-fought A-League campaign.

2024/25 A-League dates

The fixtures for the 2024/25 A-League season have yet to be released, but traditionally the campaign begins in October and runs through until May.

This season 13 teams will participate in the A-League campaign after Auckland FC were added to the competition for the first time.

The top six teams at the end of the regular season will contest finals.

In the first week of finals, the team that finished third will play sixth and fourth will play fifth in one-off elimination finals.

The winners go through to meet the top two in the semi-finals, which will be played over two legs.

The grand final will be played in Sydney for the next three seasons, regardless of which teams make it through.

How to watch the 2024/25 A-League and TV channel

Paramount+ will be live streaming every game in the competition, while Network 10 will also broadcast one game per week.

Which teams take part in the 2024/25 A-League?

For this season 13 teams will take part in the A-League, with Auckland FC becoming the latest expansion franchise to join the competition.

It was hoped that there would be 14 teams, but Canberra United have been unable to gain an A-League licence for 2024/25.

With there being 13 teams, it means one team will have a bye each week.

Teams for 2024/25: Adelaide United, Auckland FC, Brisbane Roar, Central Coast Mariners, Macarthur, Melbourne City, Melbourne Victory, Newcastle Jets, Perth Glory, Sydney FC, Western Sydney Wanderers, Wellington Phoenix, Western United.

Who are the contenders?

Reigning champions Central Coast Mariners will once again be the team to beat after winning the last two grand finals.

A lot could depend on them keeping hold of their star players, but, as they proved last season, they are capable of rebuilding and going again.

Melbourne Victory will be out to bounce back from the grand final defeat and should be strong once again, while it is hard to envisage Melbourne City having another poor season.

City only just made finals before crashing out at the first hurdle and should be back up contending for the title in 2024/25.

So too should Wellington Phoenix, who will be looking to go a couple of steps further after losing in the semi-final.

Who has won the A-League title most times?

Sydney FC won the first-ever A-League title, edging Central Coast Mariners 1-0 thanks to a Steve Corica strike.

The Sky Blues have added a further four crowns to their roll of honour to become the most successful team of the A-League era, with Melbourne Victory on four and Central Coast Mariners and Brisbane Roar both on three.

Melbourne City made four consecutive grand finals between 2020 and 2023, but their lone success came in 2021, when they defeated Sydney 3-1.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy