Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. AFL

AFL: Coleman Medal Candidates 2024

The Coleman Medal is awarded to the AFL player who has kicked most goals during a regular season.

The Brownlow Medal which is awarded to the fairest and best player in the AFL, is seen by many as the most prestigious.

It is determined by votes cast by the three officiating field umpires after each game, whereas the Coleman Medal is more clear-cut. Boot the most goals and the Coleman Medal is yours.

Kicking goals is harder than it looks and not only requires great skill, but also the ability to handle the big pressure moments when your team needs you.

Dick Lee holds the record for winning the Coleman Medal the most times, with seven to his name.

Carlton’s Charlie Curnow is the man of the moment having won the Coleman Medal in the last two seasons.

Let’s take a look at the main contenders with the 2024 season fast approaching.

Charlie Curnow

Carlton have dominated the Coleman Medal in recent seasons with Curnow winning it in 2022 and 2023, while Harry McKay won it in 2021.

With the Blues expected to be in the mix for grand final glory, Curnow is all set to have another big season and could win the Coleman Medal a third straight year.

He is priced at 6.50 to do just that.

Curnow slotted 64 goals in 2022 and 78 in 2023, and he may have to go even higher again if he is to take the top prize.

Jeremy Cameron

Cameron finished third in the Coleman Medal standings in 2022 as Geelong went on to win the grand final.

He booted 59 goals in that regular season, but just like the Cats, Cameron failed to hit the same heights in 2023.

They failed to make finals but should come bouncing back in 2024 and Cameron could do the same.

The Cats have some guns, including Tom Hawkins, but Cameron is priced at 8.00, to win the Coleman Medal.

Tom Lynch

Lynch impressed in 2022 when finishing second behind Curnow with 60 goals, but he could not repeat the form last season.

Even so, the forward is without doubt one of the best in the AFL, and if he rediscovers his best form, can claim the top prize.

Richmond Tigers will be looking to challenge this season and Lynch is 11.00 to win the Coleman Medal.

Nick Larkey

Considering North Melbourne had another season of struggle in 2023, Larkey did amazingly well to boot 71 goals.

Just seven behind Curnow and five behind Walker, the Kangaroos ace finished third in the standings.

It could be another tough campaign for North Melbourne, but Larkey is tipped to shine again and can be backed at 11.00 to win the Coleman Medal.

Taylor Walker

Walker was the man to really push Curnow in 2023 but had to settle for second place after just falling short.

The Adelaide Crows ace had a disappointing 2022 and was not in the running at all. However he was back to his best last season with 76 goals and will be keen to take that form into 2024.

Walker was also in the mix in 2021 with 48 goals, just 10 behind the eventual winner McKay.

He is 13.00 to win the Coleman Medal in the season ahead.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy