Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Horse Racing
  1. Horse Racing

All Star Mile: Date, how to watch, past winners & more

The All Star Mile is a Thoroughbred horse race which is run over 1600m at Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, in March.

The All Star Mile is a new addition to the calendar, and is a result of a racing battle between Victoria and New South Wales.

The prizemoney up for grabs stands at a cool $4million and it helps attract some of the best middle-distances horses from Australia and New Zealand.

Mr Brightside won the race in 2023 and is the hot fancy to defend his crown this year.

Here is our guide to the All Star Mile.

All Star Mile date

The All Star Mile is part of the Melbourne Autumn Carnival and is raced seven days after ‘Super Saturday’ which is raced at Flemington.

Since its inception, the All Star Mile has been raced in March and the 2024 edition will take place on Saturday 16th March.

All Star Mile time

The exact start time for the All Star Mile has yet to be announced, but in 2023 it was Race 7 on a bumper card.

All Star Mile location

The All Star Mile will be raced at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne.

All Star Mile how to watch

The All Star Mile will be shown free-to-air on Channel 7.

All Star Mile history

The All Star Mile is new to the racing calendar and the first edition took place in 2019.

It was won by a horse name Mystic Journey for trainer Adam Trinder and jockey Anthony Darmanin.

The All Star Mile came about following a battle between Racing Victoria and Racing New South Wales.

NSW added the richest race on turf, The Everest, to their calendar, which clashed with the Caulfield Cup. They did the same with the Golden Eagle that clashed with the Victoria Derby.

In response Victoria came up with the All Star Mile that in recent years has clashed with the Golden Slipper or Coolmore Classic Day in Sydney.

All Star Mile prize money

The total prizemoney pot for the All Star Mile mile stands at a cool $4million.

The winner of the All Star Mile will pick up $2million, while second wins $600,000, third $350,000.

No-one leaves empty handed and whoever finishes last, still picks up $50,000 for their efforts.

All Star Mile past winners

There have been just five winners of the All Star Mile and Mr Brightside took the honours in 2023 for Team Hayes and jockey Luke Currie.

The other four winners are Mystic Journey, Regal Power, Russian Camelot and Zaaki.

All Star Mile odds

Mr Brightside is the hot fancy to go back-to-back and win the All Star Mile.

Mr Brightside has been in devastating form and can be backed at 2.40 to take the win.

Pride Of Jenni looks to be the only threat at 3.75, while there is a big gap in the betting to Pericles at 11.00.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy