Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Cricket
  2. The Ashes

The Ashes: All you need to know

This winter sees the intense rivalry of the Ashes resume between England and Australia, with the iconic series still regarded by many as the pinnacle of the sport.

WhatThe Ashes 2023
WhenFriday, 16th June to Monday 13th July
How to watchChannel 7
OddsEngland 2.10, Draw 6.50, Australia 2.30

What are the Ashes?

The Ashes is a Test series played between rivals England and Australia and is hosted in turn by each country at least once every two years. 

It originated in the late 1800s when a British newspaper wrote that English cricket had died following Australia's first ever Test win on English soil. 

It subsequently claimed the body would be cremated and the ashes would be taken to Australia, with England's captain Ivo Bligh claiming at the time that England would regain the ashes. 

The winner of each series wins a small, terracotta Ashes urn and if the upcoming series is drawn, it is Australia who keep possession of it. 

Australia have won 34 Ashes series with England winning 32 and the teams sharing the spoils on six occasions.

Where will the Ashes be played?

With the last edition having taken place in Australia in 2021/22, the 2023 series will be in England

The five Test matches will be played at five different grounds – Edgbaston, Birmingham; Lord’s, London; Headingley, Leeds; Old Trafford, Manchester; The Oval, London.

When do the Ashes take place?

The first Test will begin on Friday 16th June at Edgbaston and will run through to Tuesday 20th June. 

The second will start on Wednesday 28th June at Lord’s - the home of cricket - with day five, if required, taking place on Sunday 2nd July. 

Headingley Stadium in Leeds will play host to the third Test, which begins on Thursday 6th July, through until Monday 10th July. 

The penultimate Test will begin on Wednesday 19th July, at Old Trafford in Manchester, with the fifth and final day scheduled for Sunday 14th July. 

The 2023 Ashes series concludes at The Oval, with the final Test taking place from Thursday 27th July to Monday 31st July.

Where can I watch The Ashes?

All five of this year's Ashes Tests will be available to watch on Channel 7.

Who won the last edition of the Ashes?

Australia are the current holders of the Urn after their 4-0 series victory on home soil in 2021-22, so will retain the Ashes if they avoid defeat in England. 

The last series in England was back in 2019, when the five-match showdown finished 2-2 which meant Australia maintained the Urn, having won the previous series Down Under in 2017-18. 

The last time England won an Ashes series was in 2015, with a 3-2 success in their own country, while their last series victory in Australia coming back in 2010-11.

Related Ashes News

Can Steve Smith's County Championship spell aid Ashes hopes?

Australian Cricket: Are the selectors right to give Warner another Test chance?

Who are the favourites to win the Ashes?

With home advantage and a recent resurgence under coach Brendon McCullum and captain Ben Stokes, England are the 2.10 favourites to win the latest series. 

You have to go back to 2001 for the last time Australia won a Test series in England, but Andrew McDonald’s men head to the UK one place above them in the Test rankings. 

Australia, who lost their last away series in India, are priced at 2.30 to come out on top while the draw can be backed at 6.50.

Who could impress in the Ashes this time around?

England have a mixture of youth and experience in their squad going into the latest Ashes series and their attacking style under coach McCullum has really caught the eye. 

All-rounder Stokes is still a crucial figure, as he was in the last Ashes series in England, while former captain Joe Root is currently ranked the fourth-best Test batsman in the world. 

Veteran pacemen James Anderson and Stuart Broad can have an important role again, while wicket-keeper-batsman Jonny Bairstow is fit and available after suffering a broken leg in 2022. 

One of the younger players to watch out for is Harry Brook, with the Yorkshire batter having already racked up four Test centuries in 10 innings. 

Australia’s squad is a touring party that has much more Ashes experience, with the selectors sticking by opener David Warner despite his recent struggles in the five-day game. 

Ex-captain Steve Smith – third in the Test batting rankings - and Marnus Labuschagne have enjoyed success against England in previous years, while Travis Head has come to the fore in recent times. 

The bowling attack also has plenty of experience of Ashes battles, with the likes of captain Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood and Mitchell Starc out to cause problems for the England batting line-up.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy