Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Kangaroos set to face Italy
  1. Rugby League

Super League: All You Need to Know

Article originally published on (09/02/22)

The 27th season of Super League is about to get under way as teams across England and France battle it out to be crowned champions.

With quality sides, international stars and fierce local rivalries, the Super League is the prize all teams are desperate to win.

History of Super League

Starting back in 1996, 12 founding teams formed the Super League and in the process moved rugby league from a winter to a summer sport.

The exciting new competition replaced the old First Division, with the first 12 in the tournament being the Bradford Bulls, Castleford Tigers, Halifax, Leeds Rhinos, London Broncos, Oldham Bears, Paris Saint-Germain, Sheffield Eagles, St Helens, Warrington Wolves, Wigan Warriors and Workington Town.

Teams have come and gone, but Super League remains and is the top prize in rugby league in the northern hemisphere.

Related Super League News

Super League: Which team has done the best business?

Super League: Rhinos eager to end Saints' winning run

Super League: All-out excitement expected in 2022

Super League: Houghton intent on improving Hull togetherness

How does Super League work?

There 29 rounds of fixtures through the regular season, with sides playing each other home and away, along with a Magic Weekend fixture and six "loop fixtures".

It's the side that finishes top after those first 29 roundswho will earn the first silverware of the season with the League Leaders' Shield.

The team that finishes bottom will be relegated down to the Championship, while the top five will battle it out in the play-offs to see which two will contest the Grand Final at Old Trafford in Manchester.

ClubNumber of Super League titlesWinning Years
St Helens91996, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2006, 2014, 2019, 2020, 2021
Leeds Rhinos82004, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2017
Wigan Warriors51998, 2010, 2013, 2016, 2018
Bradford Bulls41997, 2001, 2003, 2005

Who are Super League's most successful team?

St Helens are the most successful team in Super League history, winning the title on nine previous occasions.

Leeds Rhinos are close behind having lifted the trophy eight times, with Wigan Warriors five-time champions and Bradford Bulls four.

Only these four teams have ever won Super League titles in the competition's history.

After a 12-0 win over Catalans Dragons in the Grand Final last season, Merseyside outfit St Helens are the reigning champions.

Saints are available at 15/8 to retain the title in 2022, while Catalans are 11/2 to go one better and lift the trophy.

A second French side, Toulouse, are preparing for their first season in the Super League after beating Featherstone in the promotion play-off last year.

The newcomers are currently 1/2 to finish bottom of the table this season, with Hull KR priced at 14/1.

When is Super League 2022?

The new Super League season kicks off with a repeat of last season’s Grand Final as St Helens face Catalans at the Totally Wicked Stadium on 10th February.

The Magic Weekend fixtures, which will take place at Newcastle United's St James' Park, take place over 9th and 10th July.

All teams are looking to become one of the last two, who will meet in the Grand Final in Manchester on 24th September.

Where to watch Super League on TV

Sky Sports continue to dominate much of the coverage, but after a reduced fee and non-exclusivity deal there are other places to watch the action this season.

Channel 4 will be showing eight regular-season games and two play-off matches live, while BBC Sport have retained rights to show highlights.

Discover more from the world's favourite online betting brand

More rugby league betting news

Latest sports betting and odds

Extra time extra chance

Latest rugby league results

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy