Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Cycling

Tour de France 2023: Date, odds and key details

The 110th edition of the Tour de France is set to start in Bilbao, Spain on 1st July and will take in 21 stages before concluding in Paris on 23rd July.

There are three big grand tours throughout the year and cycling fans have already enjoyed the Giro d’Italia which was won by Primoz Roglic.

The Vuelta Espana takes place at the end of the year, but the biggest, most prestigious and most famous, the Tour de France, is up next.

A total of 22 teams, made up of eight riders, will begin the Tour de France and embark on a gruelling journey over three weeks before ending in Paris.

The 2023 Tour de France looks set to be a two-cyclist race between Jonas Vingegaard and Tadej Pogacar, with both desperate to hold the yellow jersey in Paris.

However, there are sure to be plenty of twists and turns over the journey and nothing can be taken for granted in the Tour de France.

WhatTour de France 2023
WhereSpain and France
WhenSaturday 1st July to Sunday 23rd July, 2023
How to watchSBS
OddsJonas Vingegaard 2.00, Tadej Pogacar 2.50

When is the Tour de France?

The Tour almost always starts on the first weekend of July, occasionally slipping into the last weekend of June depending on events elsewhere, such as the Olympics.

This year's edition, the 110th, will see the cyclists begin racing in the Basque city of Bilbao in Spain on Saturday 1st July, before travelling all the way through France to the Champs-Elysees in Paris where the event will finish on Sunday 23rd July 2023.

What is the Tour de France

The Tour de France is the world's most famous bike race. Millions of spectators line the streets as the cyclists navigate 21 gruelling stages raced over a duration of 22 or 23 days.

Twenty-two teams from all over the world compete in the Tour de France, with each team represented by eight riders.

Where is the Tour de France?

As is always the case these days, the Tour de France starts outside of the country and in 2023 it is the turn of Spain to host the Grand Depart.

The Tour de France will start in Bilbao on 1st July and the first three stages of the race take place in Spain, before the peloton moves into France from Stage 4.

The final stage takes place on the Champs-Elysees in Paris on 23rd July. After that stage the winner of the Tour de France will be confirmed.

Before the peloton hits Paris they will travel a total of 3404km, taking in some of the finest high mountains that France has to offer.

The most climbed mountain in Tour de France history, the Col du Tourmalet, is once again included in the route, while the Col d’Aubisqe is another huge climb to look out for.

Where can I watch the Tour de France?

The Tour de France is one of the most-watched events in world sport, with a global TV audience of around 150 million viewers and SBS is the place to follow the action for Australian audiences.


The two main contenders and hot fancies for the 2023 Tour de France are Jonas Vingegaard and Tadej Pogacar.

It was Jumbo Visma rider Vingergaard who came out on top in the 2022 edition and Pogacar of UAE Team Emirates will be gunning for revenge.

Pogacar won the Tour de France in 2020 and 2021 so knows how to get the job done. However, the Slovenian ace has seen his build-up hampered by a broken wrist.

The 24-year-old will be ready to hit the start line for stage one in Bilbao, but it remains to be seen how a lack of racing will affect him.

Vingegaard has had a smooth preparation so far, following the more traditional course of a rider wishing to win the Tour de France.

Unlike Pogacar, he has limited his racing and avoided the Spring Classics to focus solely on being ready for the Tour.

Team tactics are sure to come into play and there is no doubt that Jumbo Visma outsmarted UAE last year, thus helping Vingegaard win the Tour.

UAE will have learnt their lesson from that and it is sure to be another intriguing battle between the two teams.

Who has won the Tour de France on the most occasions?

There are four riders who have won the Tour de France five times. They are French duo Jacques Anquetil and Bernard Hinault, Belgian legend Eddy 'The Cannibal' Merckx and Spain's Miguel Indurain.

Britain's Chris Froome has won the race four times.

RiderNumber of WinsYears
Jacques Anquetil51957, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964
Eddy Merckx51969, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1974
Bernard Hinault51978, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1985
Miguel Indurain51991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995
Chris Froome42013, 2015, 2016, 2017

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy