Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Horse Racing
  1. Horse Racing

Australian Oaks: Date, how to watch, past winners & more

The Australian Oaks is a Group 1 Thoroughbred horse race for three-year-old fillies that takes place at Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, in April.

Steeped in history, the Australian Oaks is raced at set weights over 2400m and is one of the premier staying races for three-year-old fillies.

It is part of the ATC Championship series in Sydney and, with $1million in prize money up for grabs, always attracts a stellar field.

Here is everything you need to know about the Australian Oaks.

Australian Oaks date

The Australian Oaks is part of the Sydney autumn racing carnival and takes place in April each year.

The 2024 edition of the Australian Oaks will take place on Saturday 13th April.

It is held on the second day of the ATC Championships and forms part of a very impressive card.

The Sydney Cup, Queen Elizabeth Stakes and Queen Of The Turf Stakes, which are all group 1 races, take place on the same day.

Australian Oaks time

The exact start time of the Australian Oaks has yet to be revealed, but in 2023, it was Race 6 on the card.

Australian Oaks venue

The Australian Oaks has always been held at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales.

Australian Oaks how to watch

The Australian Oaks will be shown free-to-air on Channel 7.

Australian Oaks history

The Australian Oaks was first raced way back in 1885 and was won by a horse named Uralla.

Back then it was known as the AJC Oaks but was not held between 1895 and 1921.

On its return, the race was known as the Adrian Knox Oaks Stakes, and stayed that way until 1956.

It is now commonly known as the ATC Australian Oaks.

The Australian Oaks started out as a principal race, but in 1980 it was upgraded to group 1 status and has remained that way since.

It has also been raced in January in the past and over 1600m.

Australian Oaks past winners

Pennyweka was the winner of the 2023 Australian Oaks for trainer Jim Wallace and jockey Damian Lane.

Other notable winners of the Australian Oaks are Streama in 2012, Triscay in 1991 and Research in 1989.

The latter won the Australian Oaks just four days after also winning the Australian Derby.

Australian Oaks prize money

The total amount of prize money for the Australian Oaks stands at a cool $1million.

$580,000 goes to the winner of the race, $190,000 to second and $98,000 to third.

Australian Oaks odds

Orchestral is the hot fancy at 1.60 to win the 2024 edition of the Australian Oaks.

Zardozi can be backed at 4.00, while is Tutta La Vita is available at 8.00.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy