Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Golf

Australian PGA Championship: Dates, course, previous winners, odds & more

The Australian PGA Championship is the home tournament of the Australian PGA and will once again be hosted by Queensland in 2023.

Australia’s brightest young players will get the chance to showcase their talents over 72 holes, alongside a host of international stars, who will head down under to battle it out for $2million prize purse.

There have been some famous winners of the Australian PGA Championship, including Cameron Smith, who has won it three times.

Smith will be back to defend the title he won in 2022, and here is our guide to the Australian PGA Championship.

Australian PGA Championship Date

The Australian PGA Championship will get underway on Thursday 23rd November and will conclude on Sunday 26th November.

Australian PGA Championship Venue

Since 2000 the Australian PGA Championship has been held in the South East Queensland region of Australia.

The Royal Queensland Golf Club in Brisbane has hosted the event on four occasions and will do so again in 2023.

The venue first hosted the tournament in 2000 when Robert Allenby took the title. He returned to the same course 12 months later to successfully defend his crown.

Royal Queensland then had to wait until 2022 to host it again, with the tournament taking place in both January and November last year.

Who is the reigning Australian PGA champion?

Australia’s very own Cameron Smith is the reigning champion, winning it for the third time in November 2022.

Smith finished the tournament on -14, three shots ahead of Ryo Hisatsune of Japan and Australia’s Jason Scrivener.

Australian PGA Championship How to Watch

The Australian PGA Championship on both Foxtel and Kayo Sports.

How many times has the Australian PGA Championship taken place?

The Australian PGA Championship was first played in 1929 and was hosted by the Royal Adelaide Golf Club.

The tournament has taken place every year since, apart from 2020 when it was cancelled due to the pandemic.

The 2021 tournament was moved to January 2022 for the same reason.

Who has won the Australian PGA Championship on the most occasions?

Kel Nagle holds the record for most wins with six titles to his name, while Bill Dunk won it five times.

Most recently Cameron Smith has won it three time and will be out to make it four in 2023.

Australian PGA Championship Scoring Record

Jediah Morgan holds the record for the best performance at the Australian PGA Championship, when he won it by a massive 11 strokes in January 2022.

Morgan finished on -22, with Andrew Dott the closest challenger on -11.

Australian PGA Championship Prize Purse

The total prize purse for the 2022 Australian PGA Championship stand at $2million.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy