Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Cricket
  2. Australian Cricket

Australian Cricket: Australia's record at the Ashes 2023 venues

The England and Wales Cricket Board have announced which five grounds will be hosting the Men's Ashes Tests in 2023 – with the action due to get underway in June.

Australia are looking to retain the little urn, which they have held since 2018 after a 4-0 series victory on home soil last time out.

But you have to go back to 2001 for the last time the Baggy Greens won a series in England and they will be looking to put that right in the summer of 2023.

What:The Ashes 2023
Where:Edgbaston, Lord's, Headingley, Old Trafford, The Oval
When:16th June - 31st July
Odds:England 13/8, Australia 5/6, Tie 11/2

Edgbaston, Birmingham

England and Australia have faced each other 15 times in Tests at Edgbaston, with England winning six, Australia four and there have been five draws.

Their first meeting in Birmingham was way back in 1902, with the most recent coming in 2019 when the tourists gained a 251-run success.

Prior to that crushing win for Australia, England had been victorious in two of the last three Edgbaston meetings – in 2005 and 2015 – with one draw in 2009.

The 2019 Australia success was a Test to remember for Steve Smith, who smashed back-to-back centuries – 144 in the first innings and 142 in the second.

It was also a highlight match for spinner Nathan Lyon, who took nine wickets, including 6-49 in the second innings.

Lord's London

The first time the two countries met at the home of cricket was back in 1884 and since then there have been another 36 Ashes Tests.

It's been a happy hunting ground for the tourists, who have won on 15 occasions to England's seven and there have been 15 draws.

One of those draws came in 2019 after there was no play on day one, with Australia eventually chasing a winning target of 267 but ended the second innings on 154-6.

Australia's biggest win at Lord's came in 1993, when they beat England by an innings and 62 runs. The top three batsmen - Mark Taylor, Michael Slater and David Boon - all scored centuries as the Aussies scored 632-4dec.

Headingley, Leeds

Headingley has gone down in Ashes folklore on a couple of occasions, with Australia on the wrong end of the result on both occasions.

In 1981, the hosts won an incredible match by 18 runs despite Australia racking up 401 in their first innings and England being forced to follow on. Ian Botham hit an unbeaten 149 in the second innings while Bob Willis took 8-43 to skittle the tourists out for just 111.

Then in 2019, England chased down 359 in the last innings, mainly thanks to an incredible 135 not out from Ben Stokes, to win by a wicket.

There have been 25 Ashes Tests in total in Leeds, with Australia winning nine times, England eight and there have been eight draws.


16th to 20th June, 2023


28th June to 2nd July, 2023


6th to 10th July, 2023

FourthOld Trafford

19th to 23th July, 2023

FifthThe Oval

27th to 31th July, 2023

Old Trafford, Manchester

A trip to Manchester has often been an enjoyable one for the travelling Aussies, who have not lost a Test at Old Trafford in their last seven matches there.

There have been 33 Ashes Tests at the home of Lancashire, with Australia winning nine matches, England have been victorious seven times, whilst there have been 15 draws and two abandonments.

The tourists made sure that they would retain the Ashes with victory in Manchester in 2019, with Smith again the star with the bat after smashing 211 in the first innings. Meanwhile, his quickfire 82 in the second innings set up the chance of victory on the final day.

You have to go back to the 1981 series for the last time Australia lost at Old Trafford, despite an impressive unbeaten century from Allan Border in the second innings.

The Oval, London

The fifth and final Test will again be held at The Oval, where 38 previous Ashes Tests have taken place – with the first way back in 1880.

During that time, Australia have claimed just seven victories with England winners on 17 occasions and there have been 14 Ashes draws.

It was the hosts that won the final Test – by 135 runs - in 2019 to draw the series, but the only century of the match was scored by an Australian batsman with Matthew Wade hitting 117 in the second innings.

Australia's last win at Surrey's home ground was in a crushing victory in 2015, when Michael Clarke's men won by an innings and 46 runs.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy