Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Cricket
  2. Big Bash

Big Bash 2023/24: New schedule announced

Australia’s premier T20 competition is set for its 13th season and following some constructive criticism from the players, the powers that be have taken action.

The big change will be a reduction in the amount of matches played and it is hoped by cutting the duration of the tournament, the quality and excitement will improve even more.

Let’s take a closer look at what is in store for the 2023/24 Big Bash League campaign.

Big Bash League history

The Big Bash League was established by Cricket Australia in 2011 and initially involved 28 group stage matches.

That was expanded to 32 the season after and the competition continued to grow from there.

At its height the BBL expanded to 61 matches, which courted one or two complaints from the players who felt the tournament went on for too long.

The 2018/19 season went on for almost two months, which resulted in a drop in crowd numbers, partly because the schools had gone back after the summer holidays.

Not only that, but the top international players were not keen to commit for a two-month spell, and they began to stay away.

Change was needed and Cricket Australia have responded.

New schedule

Cricket Australia have now decided to cut the amount of games in the regular season back to 44.

BBL 13 is also set to have more prime-time fixtures during the school holidays in an attempt to get the crowds flocking back into the stadiums.

That means fewer games in the early afternoon, which can struggle to attract the crowds.

The new schedule also prevents a clash with rival T20 leagues around the globe. That combined with the shorter schedule, should mean that more international players will head to Australia to play.

The 2023/24 season will also start a week earlier on 7th December and will conclude with the BBL final on 24th January.

Each team will play 10 matches in the regular season before finals begin.

Finals cut to top four

Previously the top five at the end of the regular season would qualify to play finals.

However in 2023/24 that has been cut to the top four, which means more emphasis has been placed on doing well in the regular season, which could make for more exciting cricket.

There will be just four matches played in finals. The Qualifier will be played on Friday 19th January, followed by The Knockout the day after.

The Challenger will be played on Monday 22nd January before the Final on Wednesday 24th January.

Opening BBL 13 fixtures

The Big Bash campaign will begin on Thursday 7th December with a clash between Brisbane Heat and Melbourne Stars at the Gabba.

On Friday Sydney Sixers will take on Melbourne Rengades at the SCG, while Adelaide Strikers play Brisbane Heat at the Adelaide Oval on Saturday.

The defending champions Perth Glory play their first game on Sunday 10th December when they take on the Renegades at GMHBA Stadium.

The final game of the regular season will take place on Wednesday 17th January and will see Sydney Thunder and Melbourne Renegades go head-to-head.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy