Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. AFL

AFL: Brownlow Medal Candidates 2024

The Brownlow Medal is awarded to the best and fairest player in the AFL and is the most prestigious award a player can receive.

The winner of the Brownlow Medal is decided by the three field umpires, who cast their votes for the best on ground after each game during the regular home and away season.

On the night of the Brownlow Medal awards, those votes are tallied up, and the player who has the most number of votes, takes the medal.

To be eligible for the Brownlow Medal, players must avoid a suspension from the AFL throughout the regular home and away season.

Lachie Neal is the current holder of the Brownlow Medal following another stellar season for the Brisbane Lions.

The 2024 AFL season is still someway off, but there are already a number of stand-out candidates for the award. Let’s take a look at them.

Nick Daicos (Collingwood)

The Collingwood midfielder is the hot fancy to win the 2024 Brownlow medal and can be backed at 5.50.

Daicos had an outstanding 2023 as Collingwood went on to win the AFL grand final, beating the Brisbane Lions.

He was averaging 31.00 disposals a game, and was was many peoples favourite to win the 2023 Brownlow. However he finished just two points behind Lachie Neale.

The Pies ace is sure to be in the mix again.

Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs)

The Bulldogs skipper is usually in the mix when it comes to the Brownlow Medal and it was no different in 2023 when he came in fourth.

He is one of the AFL’s premier midfielders and finished second in the votes in 2021.

The 27-year-old is always busy around the contest, averaging just under 28 disposals a game in 2023.

Bontempelli is also a threat to the scoreboard and should be in the mix to win the Brownlow again in 2024.

Lachie Neale (Brisbane Lions)

The Brisbane Lions gun won the Brownlow Medal in 2023 to add to the one he won in 2020.

He will be out to claim number three in 2024 and can be backed at 13.00 to do just that.

Neale is another of the very best midfielders in the AFL and is a regular in the All Australian line-up.

With Brisbane out to make up for last season’s grand final disappointment, Neale will be a key player once again, so do not dismiss a third Brownlow Medal win.

Sam Walsh (Carlton)

Walsh had a great season for Carlton as they returned to finals in 2023 and he was actually voted player of the AFL finals series.

If he can stay injury free, the prolific ball-winner is sure to be in the mix for the 2024 Brownlow Medal and can be backed at 13.00.

Carlton had a great end to the season and Walsh was instrumental to that after returning from a hamstring injury.

The Blues will look to kick on in 2024 and Walsh is a massive player for them.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy