Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Flemington Racecourse
  1. Horse Racing

Champions Sprint: Date, how to watch, past winners, latest odds and more

The Champions Sprint is a Group 1 thoroughbred horse race which takes place at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne in November.

The Champions Sprint is part of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival and sees the best sprinters in the land head battle it out for the $3million prize money on offer.

The weight-for-age feature is raced over 1200m and was won by the legendary Black Caviar in 2010 and 2011.

Here is our guide to the Champions Sprint:

WhatChampions Sprint
WhereFlemington Racecourse, Melbourne
WhenSaturday 11th November, 2023
How to watchChannel 7
OddsImperatriz 2.35, In Secret 3.50, Star Patrol 11.00

What is the Champions Sprint?

The Champions Sprint is a weight-for-age contest that will see the best sprinters in Australia battle it out down the 1200m straight at Flemington Racecourse.

The Champions Sprint is now one of the richest sprint races on the calendar. Only the TJ Smith Stakes and The Everest are worth more.

When is the Champions Sprint?

The Champions Sprint is part of the Melbourne Cup Carnival and will be raced on Saturday 11th November.

The last day of the Carnival is Champion Stake Day, and the Champions Sprint is one of the headline races on the card.

It was originally raced on the opening day of the Carnival, on Derby day, but the switch to the final day was made in 2006.

Can I watch the Champions Sprint?

Yes. The Champions Sprint will be free-to-air on Channel 7 and on the 7Plus app.

How old is the Champions Sprint?

The Champions Sprint was first raced in 1960 and was known as the Craven ‘A’ Stakes at that time. A horse by the name of Karina won the very first one.

It was Principal Race up until 1978, before being upgraded to Group 1 in 1979.

The race has undergone a number of name changes throughout the years. More recently from 2014 to 2017 it was known as the Darley Classic, then the Darley Sprint Classic.

In 2021 the race was renamed the Champions Sprint.

Who has won the Champions Sprint?

Black Caviar is arguably the most famous winner of the Champions Sprint.

The champion mare was unbeaten in 25 starts, including her wins in the Champions Sprint in 2010 and 2011.

Nature Strip also won the race in 2019 and 2021, while Roch ‘N’ Horse took the honours in 2022 for trainer Michael Moroney and jockey Jamie Mott.

What is the prize money for the Champions Sprint?

The total prize fund for the Champions Sprint is $3million after being raised from $2million in 2022. The winner will take home approximately 60% of the prize money.

Who are the hot fancies to win the Champions Sprint?

Imperatriz is the hot fancy to win the Champions Sprint at 2.35, closely followed by In Secret at 3.50.

Star Patrol is next in the betting at 11.00.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy