Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Horse Racing

Epsom Handicap: Date, how to watch, past winners, latest odds and more

The Epsom Handicap is part of the Sydney Spring Carnival and is raced over a mile at Royal Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, at the end of September.

The Epsom Handicap is open to horses aged three years and older and has held group 1 status since 1979.

There have been some famous winners of the Epsom Handicap down the years, with the legendary Winx claiming the crown in 2015.

In the 2022 edition, the race finished in a dead heat between Ellsbetg and Top Ranked.

Here is our guide to the Epsom Handicap.

WhatEpsom Handicap
WhereRoyal Randwick Racecourse, Sydney
WhenSaturday 30th September, 2023
How to watchChannel 7
OddsPericles 6.50, Princess Grace 9.00, Osipenko 11.00

What is the Epsom Handicap?

The Epsom Handicap is named after the famous Epsom Downs Racecourse in the south of England and is open to horses aged three years and older.

It is also regarded as one of the best mile handicaps on the Australian thoroughbred racing calendar.

Every year the Epsom Handicap attracts top-class milers of different ages and sexes from all around Australia, with 20 gallopers making up the field.

Trainer Gai Waterhouse has enjoyed great success in the Epsom Handicap, winning it on seven occasions, while Chris Waller has won it four times.

When is the Epsom Handicap?

The Epsom Handicap is held on Saturday 30th September 2023 and is one of one Sydney’s most significant race days.

The group 1 The Metropolitan and the group 1 Flight Stakes are also held on the same day.

The Epsom Handicap will be Race 8 on a 10-Race card, with runners and riders due to go to post at 16:05 (AEST).

Can I watch the Epsom Handicap?

Yes. The Epsom Handicap will be free-to-air on Channel 7 and on the 7Plus app.

How old is the Epsom Handicap?

The first edition of the Epsom Handicap took place way back in 1863 and was won by a horse named Dundee.

The race was originally contested over 1600m, before switching to 1800m in 1879. However it did not remain that way for long and switched back to a mile in 1885.

It has remained that way ever since.

Who has won the Epsom Handicap?

Some of the best miles and middle-distance horses have won the Epsom Handicap over the years.

Champions such as Sky High, Gunsynd, Racing To Win and Theseo all have their names engraved on the trophy.

Nightmarch, Chatham, Noholme and Winx, all pulled off the Epsom/Cox Plate double.

What is the prize money for the Epsom Handicap?

The total prize fund for the Epsom Handicap is $1,500,000 for the 2023 edition of the race.

The winner of the race will receive $870,000, Second place will pick up $285,000, while third will scoop $142,500.

Each of the top 10 horses will win prize money with ninth and 10th both picking up $10,000 for their efforts.

Who are the hot fancies to win the Epsom Handicap?

Pericles is currently the hot fancy to win the Epsom Handicap, priced at 6.50.

Princess Grace can be backed at 9.00, along with Osipenko at 11.00.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy