Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Toronto Raptors will be hoping to kick on next year
  1. Basketball

Basketball: FIBA World Cup 2023 All you need to know

The 2023 FIBA World Cup is set to get underway and the 19th edition of the tournament will be hosted by multiple nations for the first time in its history.

The Philippines, Japan and Idonesia will host the FIBA World Cup, with the action set to begin on 25th August. The final will be played on 10th September.

It is all set up to be an exciting couple of weeks and here is all you need to know about the tournament.

WhatFIBA World Cup 2023
WherePhilippines, Japan and Indonesia
When25th August to 10th September 2023
How to watchKayo
OddsUSA 1.90, France 8.50, Australia 10.00, Canada 11.00

Host nations and venues

For the very first time in the history of the FIBA World Cup, it will be hosted by multiple nations with the Philippines, Japan and Idonesia winning the bidding process.

The three nations won the vote ahead of a joint bid from Argentina and Uruguay. The FIBA announced on 1st June 2017 that the Philippines, Japan and Idonesia had won the vote.

The Philippines will host 16 of the nations involved in the World Cup and will use three arenas.

They are the Philippine Arena, which has a capacity of 55,000, Araneta Coliseum holds 15,000, the same as the Mall of Asia Arena.

Idonesia and Japan will host eight nations each and will use just the one venue.

The Indonesia Arena in Jakarta holds 16,000, while in Japan a new venue has been built for the World Cup. It is named the Okinawa Arena and has a capacity of 10,000.

FIBA World Cup format

The 2023 FIBA World Cup will be played in three phases – the group stage, the second round and final phase.

For the group stage, the 32 nations involved have been divided into eight groups of four from Group A to Group H.

Every team in the group will play each other once and the top two teams from each group will progress into the second round.

In the second round there will be four groups of four and again, after playing each other once, the top two from each group will qualify for the final phase.

In the final phase there will be four quarter-finals, two semi-finals, the final and third place game, played between the losing semi-finalists.

Teams to watch

It is no surprise that the USA are the hot fancies to win the FIBA World Cup and they are priced at 1.90 to go all the way.

France are tipped to be the biggest threat to the USA and can be backed at 8.50, while Australia will fancy their chances of having a good World Cup and are priced at 10.00.

Defending champions Spain are available at 13.00, while Canada are 11.00.

Previous winners

Spain are the current World Champions after they defeated Argentina in the 2019 edition of the tournament.

The USA dominated before then when winning in both 2010 and 2014, and have won the gold medal on five occasions since the tournament started way back in 1950.

Argentina beat the USA in the very first World Cup final in 1950 but have failed to qualify for the 2023 tournament.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy