Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Cricket
  2. Australian Cricket

India v Australia T20I series: Dates, schedule and history

World Cup finalists India and Australia will renew their rivalry almost as soon as the tournament is over by playing a five-match T20I series.

The first match takes place in Visakhapatnam on Thursday 23rd November, with the final contest scheduled for Hyderabad on Sunday 3rd December.

Coming so soon after a global competition, there may well be opportunities for fringe players on both sides to showcase their talents, with the next T20 World Cup taking place in the West Indies and the United States in June 2024.

Australia are 5.50 take the honours there, with India priced at 3.75 and defending champions England 3.75.

WhatIndia v Australia T20I series
WhenThursday 23rd November - Sunday 3rd December
How to watchKayo, Foxtel

Tight schedule for five matches

  • 1st T20I, Visakhapatnam, Thursday 23rd November
  • 2nd T20I, Thiruvananthapuram, Sunday 26th November
  • 3rd T20I, Guwahati, Tuesday 28th November
  • 4th T20I, Nagpur, Friday 1st December
  • 5th T20I, Hyderabad, Sunday 3rd December

Having played a three-match ODI series in India prior to the World Cup, Australia will have spent more than two months in the country by the time the T20I series finishes in Hyderabad in early December and the 20-over programme is a pretty snug fit.

The first match takes place in Visakhapatnam on Thursday 23rd November and the action wraps up just ten days later, meaning that there are sure to be a whole host of changes made by both sides, depending on how far their 50-over World Cup journeys take them.

The ACA-VDCA Stadium in Visakhapatnam has hosted just three completed T20Is, with Australia defeating India by three wickets in a low-scoring clash in February 2019.

Three days later the two sides meet in Thiruvananthapuram and the Greenfield International Stadium has also played host to only three T20Is, the most recent of which saw India defeat South Africa by eight wickets, after restricting the Proteas to 106-8 in September 2022.

Next it is on to Guwahati on Tuesday 28th November, with the Barsapara Cricket Stadium having hosted just two completed T20I matches.

The first of those saw the Baggy Greens defeat their hosts by eight wickets in October 2017, with India bowled out for 118 as Jason Behrendorf destroyed their top-order batting.

The venue for the fourth match of the series, the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur, is a much more established T20I venue, with the last of 13 matches played at the venue having seen India defeat Australia by six wickets in a rain-shortened meeting in September 2022.

Finally, on Sunday 3rd December the two sides face off at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad, which was also a venue when Australia toured in September 2022.

India edged home by six wickets with just a ball to spare to secure a 2-1 series victory on that occasion, with Suryakumar Yadav smashing 69 from 36 balls as the hosts successfully chased down 187.

Previous meetings in India

It may be a bit of a surprise, but Australia and India have only faced each other in ten T20Is played in India to date, with the record reading six wins for the hosts and four victories for the Baggy Greens.

Four of the five venues being used for this series feature on that list of previous meetings, with the Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram the exception.

Australia lost the first four 20-over internationals they played in India, before winning the next four and then losing the last two to be edged out in the three-match series just over a year ago.

Glenn Maxwell made scores of 1, 0 and 6 in that most recent series, but prior to that had enjoyed some success in India in T20I cricket, including making 113 not out in a seven-wicket win in Bengaluru in February 2019.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy