Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. More Sports & News

Netball World Cup 2023: Date, schedule, history, odds & more

The Netball World Cup will take place in Cape Town, South Africa, and will be the 60th anniversary of the tournament that was first held in 1963.

Sizteen teams will battle it out over 10 days of action in netball’s most prestigious event before one of them will be crowned as World Champions on 6th August.

Here is all you need to know about the 2023 Netball World Cup.

WhatWorld Cup 2023
WhereCape Town, South Africa
When28th July - 6th August
How to watchSBS Viceland, SBS On Demand
OddsAustralia 1.85, Jamaica 4.25, New Zealand 5.00, England 5.50

How many times has the Netball World Cup taken place?

The 2023 World Cup will be the 16th edition of the tournament, but just the third as the ‘Netball World Cup’.

Up until 2015, the premier Netball tournament was known as the ‘World Netball Champions’. From 1963 until 1987, the Championships were played in a ‘round robin’ format.

Who has won the Netball World Cup the most times?

New Zealand are the current World Champions after winning the 2019 World Cup, which was held in Liverpool, England.

New Zealand beat Australia in a dramatic final, winning 52-51, with host nation England finishing third.

Australia won the previous three finals in 2015, 2011 and 2007, beating New Zealand on each occasion.

Indeed, Australia have been the dominant force since the first tournament back in 1963, winning it on 11 occasions.

New Zealand are the only other nation to have won it, taking the title on four occasions.

Who is hosting the 2023 Netball World Cup?

South Africa will host the 2023 Netball World Cup, and this will be the first time the tournament will be played in Africa.

All matches during the World Cup will be held at the Cape Town International Convention Centre.

Which teams will be playing at the 2023 Netball World Cup?

There will be 16 nations battling it out in the 2023 Netball World Cup.

In the 1995 tournament in Birmingham, England, 27 nations took part, but it was whittled down to 16 in 2007 and has remained the same ever since.

The nations who will compete in 2023 are Australia, New Zealand, Jamaica, England, South Africa, Uganda, Malawi, Wales, Trinidad & Tobago, Scotland, Zimbabwe, Barbados, Tonga, Fiji, Singapore and Sri Lanka.

What is the format of the 2023 Netball World Cup?

The Netball World Cup will comprise of three phases - two group phases and then the knockout/placing phase.

Following the completion of all games, a champion will be crowned, while each team will be ranked from 1st to 16th.

Preliminaries Stage One

There are four groups of four teams for the opening round of matches. They are as follows:

Group A: Australia, Tonga, Zimbabwe and Fiji.
Group B: England, Malawi, Scotland and Barbados.
Group C: Jamaica, South Africa, Wales and Sri Lanka.
Group D: New Zealand, Trinidad & Tobago, Singapore and Uganda.

Who are the favourites for the 2023 Netball World Cup?

Australia are ranked the number one team in the world at the moment and will be the ones to beat. They are priced at 1.85 to go all the way and win their 12th title.

There is little to separate the next three nations, with Jamaica, who are targeting their first ever World Cup title, priced at 4.25.

New Zealand can be backed at 5.00, England 5.50. Next in line are South Africa, who qualified as the host nation, and are priced at 67.00.

Like Australia, Jamaica, New Zealand and England, Uganda qualified as one of the top five teams in the World Netball Rankings.

They are priced at 101.00 to win the World Cup.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy