Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Cricket
  2. Australian Cricket

New Zealand v Australia Test Series: Dates, times, how to watch and more

Fresh from a successful summer on home soil, Australia now head to New Zealand for a two-match Test series.

The Aussies saw off both Pakistan and the West Indies and will look to take that good form into the series against the Black Caps.

Australia enjoyed a comfortable 2-0 series win the last time they made the trip to New Zealand in 2016, and will be targeting the same.

Here is everything you need to know about the forthcoming series.

New Zealand v Australia dates

Australia will start the tour with three T20 internationals against New Zealand.

The Test match action will then get underway with the first Test starting on 29th February and could run to 4th March.

There will be little time for rest as the second Test will then begin on 8th March and could stretch to 12th March if it goes the whole five days.

New Zealand v Australia times

Play on every day of each Test match will begin at 09:00 (AEST).

New Zealand v Australia venues

The first Test Match will take place at the Basin Reserve, which is located at Mount Cook in Wellington.

The action will then switch to Christchurch for the second Test, which will be played at the Hagley Oval.

How to watch New Zealand v Australia 

Both Test matches will be available to watch in Australia on both Fox Sports and Kayo Sports.

When did Australia last win a Test series in New Zealand?

Australia were successful on their last trip to New Zealand which came some time ago in 2016, wrapping up the two-match series 2-0.

They were particularly dominant in the first Test match in Wellington when winning it by an innings and 52 runs.

Australia made 562 runs, while New Zealand were bowled out for 183 in their first innings and 327 in their second.

Australia then wrapped up the series when winning the second Test in Christchurch by seven wickets.

New Zealand were bowled out for 370 and 335, while Australia made 505 and 201/3.

Head-to-head record

There have been a total of 60 Test matches between New Zealand and Australia.

Australia have dominated over the years when winning 34 of the matches, while New Zealand have won eight.

18 matches ended in a draw.

Who will be playing for Australia?

Australia have named a very strong squad for the two-Test series against New Zealand.

There is of course no David Warner, who has retired from the Test arena, but there is no shortage of talent in the World Champions' squad.

Steve Smith and Usman Khawaja will open the batting, while Travis Head returns to the fold after being handed a short rest.

Marnus Labuschagne will also have a key role to play with the bat, while Cameron Green and Mitch Marsh are the all-round options in the squad.

Matt Renshaw is in the squad and could get the nod if injuries kick in.

The bowling attack is as strong as ever thanks to the usual suspects of skipper Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Nathan Lyon.

Michael Neser, Scott Boland and Alex Carey also make up the squad.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy