Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Cricket
  2. International Cricket

ODI World Cup 2023: Dates, schedule, history and odds

The 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, which will be hosted by India, is fast approaching and looks certain to be an exciting edition.

It will be the 13th edition of the Cricket World Cup, which is held every four years, and England will be out to defend their crown.

However host nation India will have something to say about that, along with Australia who have won the World Cup on five previous occasions.

The quality of the opposition will be high and Pakistan, New Zealand and South Africa all have realistic chances of upsetting the odds to take the win.

What2023 Cricket World Cup
When5th October - 19th November 2023
How to watchKayo, Foxtel
OddsIndia 3.20, England 4.00, Australia 5.50

World Cup dates

The group stage of the 2023 World Cup will begin on 5th October and will conclude on 12th November before the knock-out stages begin.

The semi-finals will begin on 15th November and the 2023 World Cup Final will be played on 19th November.

World Cup schedule

The 2023 World Cup will get underway on 5th October with a match that is the repeat of 2019 World Cup Final, which saw England beat New Zealand.

10 teams will participate in the World Cup and everyone will play each other once during the group stage.

Then whoever finishes in the top four of the group will go on to contest the semi-finals of the World Cup.

Host nation India will get their World Cup campaign underway with what has the potential to be a classic against Australia. The match will take place on 8th October.

Another highlight of the group stage will be the match between two fierce rivals, England and Australia, which will take place on 4th November.

A clash between India and the Netherlands will wrap up the group stage.

The first semi-final between the teams that finished first and fourth in the group, will take place on 15th November.

The second semi-final will be played the day after on 16th November.

World Cup history

England are the current holders of the Cricket World Cup after beating New Zealand in a thrilling final in 2019.

That was the first time that England had won the World Cup since the tournament began back in 1975.

It is Australia that have dominated the World Cup, winning it on five occasions. They pulled off the treble when winning it in 1999, 2003 and 2007.

Their other two wins came in 1987 and 2015.

Elsewhere both India (1983 and 2011) and West Indies (1975 and 1979) have won the World Cup on two occasions.

The other nations to have won the World Cup are Pakistan in 1992 and Sri Lanka in 1996.

World Cup odds

Being on home soil it is no surprise that India are the hot fancies at 3.20 to go on and win the World Cup, but it is by no means a certainty.

Australia, who are priced at 5.50, performed well when beating India in an ODI series in March 2023, thus proving they can handle the conditions.

Current champions England will also be a huge threat at 4.00, along with Pakistan at 7.50.

New Zealand can be backed at 8.50 and South Africa 11.00.

The less fancied sides are Sri Lanka 26.00, Afghanistan 34.00 and Bangladesh 51.00, along with big outsiders the Netherlands at 751.00.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy