Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Cricket
  2. International Cricket

ODI World Cup: All you need to know

The 13th edition of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup is set to take place in India at the end of 2023.

England are the defending champions after beating New Zealand in a thrilling final at Lords in 2019, and they are expected to be in the mix once again - priced at 4.00 to win it. 

However, the competition will be fierce with the host nation India currently priced at 3.20 to win the World Cup, while Australia can be backed at 5.00.  

One thing is for certain, the tournament is sure to provide plenty of thrills and spills before the champions are crowned on 19th November. Here is everything you need to know about the Cricket World Cup.

WhatWorld Cup 2023
When5th October to 19th November 2023
How to watchFoxtel, Kayo
OddsIndia 3.25, England 4.00, Australia 5.00

When is the 2023 Cricket World Cup?

As things stand the 2023 Cricket World Cup will begin on 5th October, with the final set to be played on 19th November. 

The ICC originally said the final would take place on 26th November, but that has now been brought forward by a week.

Which countries are playing at the 2023 Cricket World Cup?

The 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup will see 10 nations do battle and eight have already sealed qualification for the tournament. 

They are India, who qualified as the host nation, Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa. 

There had been doubts over whether Pakistan would take part in the World Cup, but their availability has now been confirmed. 

10 teams will take part in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier, to be hosted in Zimbabwe, when the final two participants for the 2023 World Cup will be decided. 

The teams involved are Zimbabwe, Nepal, West Indies, USA, Sri Lanka, UAE, Ireland, Oman, Netherlands and Scotland. 

This is the last time the Cricket World Cup will consist of 10 teams. From 2027 and beyond, there will be 14 teams taking part.

What is the format of the 2023 Cricket World Cup?

The 2023 Cricket World Cup will begin with a group stage, involving all 10 teams. Each team will play the other nine teams once, meaning there will be a total of 45 matches in the group stage. 

At the end of the group stage, the top four will progress through to the semi-finals. In the first semi-final, the team that finished in top spot will play fourth, while second and third will go head-to-head in the second semi-final. The final will take place on 19th November.

What are the venues for the 2023 Cricket World Cup?

The venues that will host the Cricket World Cup will be confirmed during the forthcoming ICC World Test Championship Final between India and Australia. 

It is expected the matches will be played at 12 different venues throughout India, with the final tipped to take place at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. 

It has been suggested that the semi-finals will be played in Mumbai, while Delhi, Dharamsala, Guwahati, Indore, Kolkata, Rajkot, and Raipur should also stage matches. 

The complete schedule for the entire tournament will also be revealed at the same press conference.

Who are the contenders for the 2023 Cricket World Cup?

India, England and Australia are the three hot fancies to win the Cricket World Cup, but one or two of the other nations will fancy their chances. 

Among them are Pakistan, who are priced at 8.00, New Zealand, who made the final in 2019 are 8.50, while South Africa can be backed at 11.00

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy