Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
NRL Rugby
  1. Rugby League
  2. NRL

NRL: Previous Grand Final Winners

Penrith Panthers are bidding to win a third straight Grand Final in 2023, but they are not the most successful club in the NRL era.

The Panthers are without doubt the team of the moment after winning both the 2021 and 2022 grand finals and they are in the mix again as they look to pull-off the three peat.

What2023 NRL Grand Final
WhereAccor Stadium, Sydney
WhenSunday 1st October 2023
How to watchNine, Kayo & Foxtel
OddsPenrith Panthers 3.25, Brisbane Broncos 5.00, Melbourne Storrm 6.00, South Sydney Rabbitohs 6.00

The NRL era only began in 1998, switching from Australian Rugby League, and only five clubs have gone on to win the grand final since then and here we take a look at them.

Penrith Panthers

The Panthers have won three NRL grand finals since 1998, the first being the 2003 season when they beat the Sydney Roosters 18-6.

They then had to wait a good while to win their next one, when they defeated South Sydney Rabbitohs 14-12 in the 2021 grand final.

Ivan Cleary’s men went back-to-back to beat Parramatta Eels in 2022 and are now priced at 3.25 to win it again in 2023.

Penrith are currently joint top of the NRL ladder along with Brisbane Broncos and Melbourne Storm and it is harder than ever to pick a winner in 2023.

Melbourne Storm

The Storm are the most successful side of the NRL era when winning the grand final on six occasions.

Melbourne won the big dance in 1999, 2007, 2009, 2012, 2017 and 2020. However, there is an asterisk next to their name in both 2007 and 2009 after they were stripped of their titles because of salary cap breaches.

The Storm are a real threat again in 2023 despite losing a number of influential players during the off-season.

They have won 10 from 15 games and with coach Craig Bellamy at the helm and players such as Cameron Munster in the side, anything is possible - they are priced at 6.00 to win it.

Sydney Roosters

The Roosters have been another hugely successful side during the NRL era, winning the grand final on four occasions.

Under the leadership of Trent Robinson they went back-to-back in 2018 and 2019, beating the Storm and Canberra Raiders respectively. Their other successes came in 2002 and 2013.

The Roosters were one of the hot fancies to add to their tally in 2023 after a big recruitment drive in the off-season, but things have not gone according to plan so far.

They are down in 12th on the ladder with just seven wins and are priced at 29.00 after losing again on Sunday.

Brisbane Broncos

The Broncos have won three grand finals, but the last one was way back in 2006 when they beat the Storm 15-8.

And in 2023 they look to be in with a great shout of breaking the drought. Kevin Walters has assembled a very talented side and they have picked up 11 wins already this season.

They are priced at 5.00 to go all the way and win the grand final.

Manly Sea Eagles

The Manly Sea Eagles have won two grand finals, in 2008 when they thrashed the Storm 40-0 and in 2011 when they beat New Zealand Warriors 24-10.

They are down in 13th this season and making the top eight and playing finals will be their first aim.

Manly are priced at 101.00 to win the 2023 grand final.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy