Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Horse Racing
  1. Horse Racing

Queensland Oaks: Date, how to watch, past winners & more

The Queensland Oaks is a Group 1 thoroughbred horse race for three-year-old fillies which takes place at Eagle Farm racecourse, Brisbane, in June.

Raced at set weights over 2400m, the Queensland Oaks is part of the Queensland Winter Racing Carnival.

Super mare Winx, won the Queensland Oaks back in 2015 and, with $700,000 in prize money up for grabs, the race attracts a strong field.

Here is all you need to need about the Queensland Oaks.

Queensland Oaks date

The Queensland Oaks is part of the Queensland Winter Racing Carnival and is traditionally held in June.

The 2024 edition of the race will be held on Saturday 8th June.

Queensland Oaks time

The exact time for the Queensland Oaks has yet to be announced, but in 2023 it was race eight on a bumper card.

It is likely to remain the same for the 2024 edition of the race.

Queensland Oaks venue

The Queensland Oaks takes place at Eagle Farm racecourse in Brisbane.

However, due to course renovations between 2017 and 2019, the Queensland Oaks had to be switched to Doomben racecourse.

Queensland Oaks how to watch

The Queensland Oaks will be shown free-to-air on Channel 7 and also via the 7Plus app.

Queensland Oaks history

The Queensland Oaks was first raced backed in 1951 and was won by a horse named Malt Maid.

From 1951 to 1979, the Queensland Oaks was a principal race, but earned Group 1 status in 1980 and has remained that way ever since.

The race also used to take place in November as part of the Queensland Cup race card, but moved to be part of the Queensland Winter Carnival in 1973.

Queensland Oaks prize money

The total prize fund for the Queensland Oaks stands at $700,000.

First place takes home $420,000, second $126,000 and third place $63,000.

The top 10 all pick up prize money, with $8,400 going to the horses that finish sixth through to 10th.

Queensland Oaks past winners

Winx is one of the most famous winners of the Queensland Oaks, taking the honours in 2015 for her first Group 1 win.

Ethereal was another famous winner in 2001, before going on to have a big career, including a win in the Caulfield Cup.

Amokura is the most recent winner of the Queensland Oaks, taking out the 2023 edition for trainer Kris Lees and jockey Damien Oliver.

Queensland Oaks odds

Orchestral is 3.50 to win the Queensland Oaks, with Autumn Angel available at 4.00.

Molly Bloom is priced at 6.00, with Quintessa 7.50 and Coco Sun, Good Banter, Pulchritudinous and Tutta La Vita all available at 9.00.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy