Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Horse Racing
  1. Horse Racing

Railway Stakes: Date, how to watch, past winners, latest odds and more

The Railway Stakes is a Group 1 thoroughbred horse race that takes place under handicap conditions at Ascot Racecourse, Perth, in late November.

Western Australia is often overlooked by the rest of Australia as the top trainers are reluctant to travel from over east.

However, all that changes at the end of November when Perth hosts its annual spring carnival with three Group 1 races all taking place over three weekends.

The Railway Stakes over 1600m is one such race and some of Australia’s best milers will make the trip to the west.

Here is our guide to the Railway Stakes.

WhatRailway Stakes
WhereAscot Racecourse, Perth
WhenSaturday 25th November 2023
How to watchChannel 7
OddsAlsephina 6.00, Tuvala 8.50, Bustler 13.00, Cascadian 13.00

What is the Railway Stakes?

The Railway Stakes is a Group 1 thoroughbred horse race which sees some of Australia’s best milers battle it out at Ascot Racecourse in Perth.

The Railway Stakes is raced over 1600m under handicap conditions and is one of the feature races of the Perth Spring Carnival.

When is the Railway Stakes?

The Railway Stakes is part of the annual Perth Spring Carnival and will be raced on Saturday 25th November 2023.

The Winterbottom Stakes and Northerly Stakes are the other big Group 1 races in the carnival but are held on separate weekends.

The Railway Stakes is the highlight of a nine-race card, which also includes the Group 2 WA Guineas.

The Railway Stakes is race eight on the card with runners and riders set to go to post at 7.45pm (AEST).

Can I watch the Railway Stakes?

Yes. The Railway Stakes will be free-to-air on Channel 7 and on the 7Plus app.

How old is the Railway Stakes?

The Railway Stakes was first raced way back in 1887 and was won by a horse named Nimrod.

It was first raced over 2000m and was part of the Perth Cup day, which takes place on New Year’s Eve.

The distance was cut to 1600m but the race stayed on Perth Cup day until 2001, when it was switched to be part of the Perth Spring Carnival.

The Railway Stakes was handed Group 1 status in 1979 and has remained that way since.

Who has won the Railway Stakes?

Trix Of The Trade won the 2022 Railway Stakes, but the most famous winner of the race is Northerly.

Trained in Perth, Northerly won the 2000 Railway Stakes and then went on to conquer the rest of Australia when winning two Cox Plates, the Caulfield Cup and two Australian Cups.

What is the prize money for the Railway Stakes?

The total prize fund for the Railway Stakes is $1.5million after being raised from $1million in 2022. The winner will take home approximately 60% of the prize money.

Who are the hot fancies to win the Railway Stakes?

Alsephina is currently the hot fancy to win the Railway Stakes at 6.00.

Tuvala is priced at 8.50, while both Bustler and Cascadian are available at 13.00.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy