Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Rugby World Cup
  1. More Sports & News
  2. Rugby Union

Rugby Championship 2024: Dates, schedule and history

From its past in the Tri Nations to its current format, the Rugby Championship has developed into one of the most exciting international competitions in sport.

Here’s a look at all you need to know about the Rugby Championship and what to look forward to in the next instalment of the competition in 2024.

What is the Rugby Championship?

The Rugby Championship is an annual international tournament played in the southern hemisphere between Argentina, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa.

This competition was formerly known as the Tri Nations and was played between Australia, New Zealand and South Africa before the introduction of Argentina in 2012.

The Tri-Nations began just after rugby union went professional in 1996 and was an opportunity for three of the sport’s powerhouses to play each other on a regular basis.

The current Rugby Championship normally has a double round-robin format with each side playing each other home and away.

After all teams have played each other, the nation sitting top of the table is crowned the winner of the Rugby Championship.

Who is the most successful team in the Rugby Championship?

New Zealand have enjoyed the most success over the history of the Tri Nations and Rugby Championship to date.

The All Blacks have secured 20 titles since the first tournament back in 1996, with Australia and South Africa both tied on four titles. Argentina, since their arrival in 2012, are yet to get their hands on the silverware.

Who are the highest point scorers in Rugby Championship history?

Former New Zealand fly-half Dan Carter is the highest point scorer in the competition’s history with 554 points.

When it comes to tryscorers, South Africa’s Bryan Habana is the all-time leader with 21 tries for the Springboks.

2024 Rugby Championship dates 

The 2024 Rugby Championship commences on 10th August, 2024 with the opening day seeing New Zealand host Argentina in Wellington and South Africa travel to Brisbane to face Australia.

Round 2 on 17th August has the same fixtures but this time the games will be held in Auckland and Perth respectively, before Australia travel to Argentina and New Zealand head to South Africa in Round 3 on 31st August.

The Wallabies are again in Argentina at a venue yet to be determined on 7th September in Round 4, with the All Blacks also facing the Springboks in Cape Town that day.

Round 5 takes place on 21st September, with Australia hosting New Zealand at Accor Stadium, before the Pumas host the Springboks.

For Round 6 on 28th September, New Zealand host Australia in Wellington, before Argentina head to world champions South Africa for a clash in Mbombela.

2024 Rugby Championship venues

Argentina are yet to confirm the venues for their home fixtures, while Australia will play their home games at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane, Optus Stadium in Perth and Sydney's Accor Stadium.

Sky Stadium in Wellington will host two of New Zealand's home games, with the other taking place at Eden Park in Auckland.

The Springboks tour the country, with games at Ellis Park Stadium in Johannesburg, Cape Town Stadium and Mbombela Stadium.

How to watch 2024 Rugby Championship? 

The Rugby Championship is available to watch on Stan Sport in Australia.

2024 Rugby Championship favourites

Considering their record in the competition, New Zealand are set to be the likely favourites to lift the trophy for the 21st time in their history.

South Africa ran out champions at the 2023 World Cup in France and will fancy their chances of claiming the title this year.

Australia begin a new era under former Ireland boss Joe Schmidt and are an unknown entity heading into this Rugby Championship, while underdogs Argentina are always capable of causing an upset.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy