Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Rugby World Cup
  1. More Sports & News
  2. Rugby Union

Super Rugby 2024: Dates, how to watch, past winners, latest odds and more

The 2024 Super Rugby schedule has been revealed earlier than ever before as all 12 teams prepare for the opening day of the season on 23rd February 2024.

Here’s a look at all you need to know ahead of the highly-anticipated new season.

The Teams

Super Rugby Pacific 2024 is made up of 12 teams. Five from Australia, five from New Zealand and one each from Fiji and Pacific Islands. They are as follows:

Blues, Chiefs, Crusaders, Highlanders and Hurricanes - all from New Zealand.

Western Force, Brumbies, Reds, Rebels and Waratahs - all from Australia.

Drua from Fiji and Moana Pasifika.

The format

84 matches will be played over the regular season in a round-robin format. The top eight teams will then battle it out in the finals.

The finals series will consist of four quarter-final matches, two semi-finals and then the big one - the grand final.

The regular season will get underway on Friday 23rd February and run through to Saturday 1st June. The dates for the finals series and grand final are yet to be confirmed.

How to watch

Stan Sport will once again broadcast the action in Super Rugby for the 2024 campaign.

The hot fancies and previous winners

Winners for the last five seasons of Super Rugby, it would be little surprise to see the Crusaders as the pre-season favourites once again in 2024.

The Canterbury outfit beat fellow New Zealand side the Chiefs 25-20 in a thrilling 2023 grand final last season.

Both the Crusaders and the Chiefs will be the teams to beat in the upcoming campaign, with both sides blessed with a host of New Zealand internationals.

That latest success for the Crusaders was their 12th title since Super Rugby began back in 1996.

The Blues are the second most successful team in the competition with three titles in 1996, 1997 and 2003.

South African side the Bulls have also won three Super Rugby crowns during a dominant spell in 2007, 2009 and 2010.

The Brumbies and the Chiefs have won two titles respectively, while the Waratahs, Hurricanes, Highlanders and Reds have all been crowned champions once each.

Week one fixtures

The 2024 Super Rugby season gets underway with an intriguing clash between last season’s grand finalists as the Chiefs and the Crusaders go head to head at FMG Stadium Waikato in Hamilton on 23rd February.

There are two other games on that opening Friday night, with the Rebels playing host to the Brumbies, while the Hurricanes will travel to face the Western Force.

Moving on to the remaining Round 1 games on Saturday 24th February, Fijian Drua have a tough opener as they make the trip to Auckland to face the Blues.

Likewise for Moana Pasifika as they make the trip to Dunedin to face the Highlanders, while there is set to be a great contest between two Australian rivals, as the Reds and the Waratahs go head to head at Suncorp Stadium to cap off the opening weekend.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy