Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Cricket
  2. T20 World Cup

T20 Men's World Cup: Dates, schedule, history & key info

The Men's T20 World Cup is an international competition that sees the world's best teams battle it out in the shortest format of the game.

The tournament has taken place on eight previous occasions and Australia's only success came in 2021, when they powered to an eight-wicket final victory over New Zealand in the UAE.

The Baggy Greens finished as runners-up in 2010, when they lost out to England in the final, while their only other two runs to the semi-finals came in 2007 and 2012.

Australia played host to the tournament for the first time in 2022, when England again took the honours, thanks to a five-wicket final win over Pakistan at the MCG.

What is the format of the Men's T20 World Cup?

There are 20 teams who will play in the tournament, which is an increase from 16 teams in 2022, and there will be 55 matches overall.

Eight nations make it through to the Super 8 stage following an opening round of qualification, which sees the teams split into four groups of five.

The top four countries from the Super 8s making it to the semi-finals, with the two winners then battling it out for the trophy in the final.

When is the Men's T20 World Cup?

The latest version of the Men's T20 World Cup takes place in June 2024 and will be the ninth staging of the tournament.

Where is the Men's T20 World Cup?

The 2024 Men's T20 World Cup will be played in the West Indies and United States, after a successful joint bid.

This will be the second time that the Windies has hosted the event, following the successful T20 World Cup of 2010.

On that occasion, just three different venues were used - Beausejour Stadium in St Lucia, Providence Stadium in Guyana and the Kensington Oval in Barbados.

This time 13 stadia across the Caribbean and the US are likely to host the matches, with two thirds of the tournament expected to take place in the West Indies.

Can I watch the Men's T20 World Cup?

Yes, every match of the tournament will be available through Foxtel and Kayo.

How many times has the Men's T20 World Cup take place?

This will be the ninth time this tournament has taken place, with the previous eight events having been held across eight different nations.

The Men’s T20 World Cup began with the inaugural event in 2007, hosted in South Africa and won by India, who beat Pakistan in the final.

The most recent tournament was held in Australia, for the first time, with 45 matches taking place over the space of 28 days.

Who has won the Men's T20 World Cup on the most occasions?

There have been six different winners at the eight previous Men's T20 World Cups, with the West Indies and England the only nations to have lifted the trophy more than once.

The Windies' first success came in 2012, when they beat hosts Sri Lanka in the final in Colombo - winning by 36 runs, with Marlon Samuels the man of the match after smashing 78 from just 55 balls.

Their second victory came in 2016, with a four-wicket win over England. Samuels shone again, scoring 85 off 66 deliveries, while Carlos Brathwaite smashed 24 off the final over to clinch a dramatic victory.

England won their first T20 world title in 2009 in the Windies, when they beat Australia by seven wickets in the final, before Jos Buttler led his team to glory in 2022.

The four single-time winners of the tournament are India (2007), Pakistan (2009), Sri Lanka (2014) and Australia in 2021.

Who are the favourites for the Men's T20 World Cup?

Australia are currently out at 5.50 to win the T20 World Cup in 2024, with England at 3.75 and India at 3.75 ahead of them in the outright market.

England will not only be the defending champions, but also won the competition when it was previously staged in the West Indies in 2010.

Pakistan are 7.50 to secure a second T20 title, with New Zealand 8.50 and South Africa 9.00, while co-hosts West Indies and USA are 15.00 and 501.00 respectively.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy