Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Horse Racing

Underwood Stakes: Date, how to watch, past winners, latest odds and more

The Underwood Stakes is a Group 1 thoroughbred horse race for stayers three years old and over and is raced under weight for age conditions.

The Underwood Stakes takes place at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne in September and was won by the legendary Phar Lap way back in 1931.

In 2023 Alligator Blood will be attempting to go back-to-back after winning the 2022 edition.

Here is our guide to the Underwood Stakes.

WhatUnderwood Stakes
WhereCaulfield Racecourse, Melbourne
When16:25 (AEST), Saturday 23rd September 2023
How to watchChannel 7
OddsWithout A Fight 3.00, Alligator Blood 6.00, Mr Brightside 6.00, Soulcombe 6.00, Atrrition 7.50

What is the Underwood Stakes?

The Underwood Stakes is a Group 1 weight-for-age race for horses three years old and over.

The Underwood Stakes is one of the big feature races of the Melbourne Spring Carnival and is raced over an unfamiliar distance of 1800m at Caulfield Racecourse.

In 2021 and 2022 the Underwood Stakes was raced at Sandown Hillside, but returns to Caulfield in 2023.

The Underwood Stakes is perfect for middle-distance horses who will be targeting success in the Cox Plate and Caulfield Cup.

It is also ideal for the staying-types, as part of their preparations for longer-distance feature races later in the year.

When is the Underwood Stakes?

The Underwood Stakes will be raced on Saturday 23rd September 2023.

It is race 7 on the nine-race card, with runners and riders due to go to post at 16:25 (AEST).

The Underwood Stakes is also raced on the same day as the Golden Rose Stakes, that is raced at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse in Sydney.

Can I watch the Underwood Stakes?

Yes. The Underwood Stakes will be free-to-air on Channel 7 and on the 7Plus app.

How old is the Underwood Stakes?

The Underwood Stakes has a long and proud history, with the first edition being raced in 1924.

Who has won the Underwood Stakes?

There have been some notable winners of the Underwood Stakes down the years, with the legendary Phar Lap winning in 1931.

Ajax became a triple champion when winning the Underwood Stakes in 1938, 1939 and 1940.

Alligator Blood is the reigning champion having won the 2022 edition, while Zaaki won in 2021 and Black Heart Bart won in both 2016 and 2019.

What is the prize money for the Underwood Stakes?

The total prize fund for the Underwood Stakes was $1million in 2022 but has been reduced to $750,000 for the 2023 edition.

The winner of the race will receive $450,000, Second place will pick up $135,000, while third will scoop $67,500.

Sixth, seventh and eighth will all win $15,000.

Who are the hot fancies to win the Underwood Stakes?

Without A Fight is currently the one to beat and is priced at 3.00 to win the Underwood Stakes.

2022 winner Alligator Blood is also in the mix and is priced at 6.00, along with Mr Brightside and Soulcombe.

Attrition is priced at 7.50, with Tuvala available at 11.00. Zaaki, who won the race in 2021, can be backed at 15.00.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy