Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Horse Racing
  1. Horse Racing

Winterbottom Stakes: Date, how to watch, past winners, latest odds and more

The Winterbottom Stakes is a Group 1 Thoroughbred horse race for three-year-olds and upwards which is held at Ascot Racecourse in Perth, Western Australia.

The Winterbottom Stakes, which is part of the Perth Spring Carnival, is held under weight-for-age conditions and is raced over 1200m.

It is an elite event and comes the week after the Group 1 Railway Stakes that is also raced at Ascot.

The Winterbottom Stakes is raced under weight-for-age conditions and is Western Australia’s premier sprint race.

WhatWinterbottom Stakes
WhereAscot Racecourse, Perth
WhenSaturday 2nd December 2023
How to watchChannel 7
OddsAmelia’s Jewel 3.75, Bella Nipotina 6.00, Almighty Class 8.00

Winterbottom Stakes date

The Winterbottom Stakes will take place on Saturday 2nd December 2023.

There are three big weekends at the Perth Summer Carnival, which run back-to-back.

Railway Stakes Day is the week before the Winterbottom Stakes, while the Kingston Town Classic is raced the week after.

The Winterbottom Stakes was first raced in 1937 and was a Principal Race initially, before being graded as a Group 2 in 1979, then becoming a Group 1 race in 2011.

Winterbottom Stakes venue

The Winterbottom Stakes takes place at Ascot racecourse in Perth, Western Australia.

The total prize fund for the race stands at $1.5million for the 2023 edition and the winner will take home approximately 60% of the prize money.

Winterbottom Stakes - how to watch

The Winterbottom Stakes will be free-to-air on Channel 7 and on the 7Plus app.

Winterbottom Stakes odds

Amelia’s Jewel who won last year’s W.A Guineas is the hot fancy and priced at 3.75 to win the Winterbottom Stakes.

Bella Nipotina is available at 6.00, while Almighty Class can be backed at 8.00.

Paulele was the winner of the 2022 Winterbottom Stakes for trainer James Cummings and jockey Ben Melham.

The most notable winner of the race is Buffering, who became a superstar in the latter part of his career. Buffering won the Winterbottom Stakes in 2013 and 2015.

Ortensia also won the Winterbottom Stakes on two occasions in 2009 and 2011.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy