Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Golf

Women’s British Open: Date, course and history

The 47th edition of the Women’s British Open golf championship is set to get underway at Walton Heath this week.

144 players will head to Surrey, England, to take part in the tournament that will stretch over four days, before the 2023 champion is crowned.

The Women’s British Open is the pinnacle for those taking part so let’s take a closer look at the tournament.

History of the British Open

The Women’s British Open is one of the major championships played in women’s professional golf and has been recognised as such since 2001.

The 2023 tournament will be the 23rd time it has been played as a major championship on the LPGA Tour.

1976 was the very first year the Women’s British Open took place when the tournament was extended to include professionals after previously being an amateur event.

Before then the tournament had been known as Ladies British Open Amateur Stroke Play Championships.

Previous winners

The very first winner of the Women’s British Open, played at Fulford, back in 1976 was Jenny Lee Smith.

Ashleigh Buhai is the reigning champion having won the 2022 event at Muirfield in Scotland, and the South African will be back to defend her crown at Walton Heath.

Other recent winners include Sweden’s Anna Nordqvist in 2021 and Germany’s Sophia Popov in 2020.

The last British winner was back in 2018 when England’s Georgia Hall won at Royal Lytham and St Annes.

Dates for the Women’s British Open

Since becoming an LPGA major tournament, the Women’s British Open has usually been played in late July or early August.

The 2023 tournament will be no different with the action getting underway on Thursday 10th August. The final round will take place on Sunday 13th August.

The 2023 contenders

2022 champion Asleigh Buhai is looking in good shape heading into the 2023 Women’s British Open have won the Shoprite LPGA Classic back in June.

The player she beat in a play-off to win in 2022, Gee Chun, is also in the field at Walton Heath and will be out to make up for the disappointment.

Chun already has three majors to her name and will be out for number four.

Other former winners taking part are Nordqvist and Hall, as well as the 2019 champion Hinako Shibuno.

A number of players from the world’s top 10 will also be in the hunt for glory, including current world number one, Nelly Korda.

Jin Young Ko and Celine Boutier could also be players to keep an eye on.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy